Photoment®-FAQ

FAQ – Frequently asked questions

Which company is behind Photoment®?

Photoment® is an innovative product which has been developed in a partnership between STEAG Power Minerals and KRONOS International, Inc.

STEAG Power Minerals GmbH, a wholly-owned subsidiary of STEAG GmbH, jointly with its numerous affiliates and regional partners, has for many years been the competence leader in the field of recycling by-products from hard coal fired power plants in Europe.

Website STEAG Power Minerals GmbH

KRONOS International, Inc. is one of the world leaders in the production and marketing of titanium dioxide, a white pigment which is widely used in paints, plastics and other materials.

Website KRONOS International, Inc.

What factors influence the effectiveness of Photoment®?

Light is required for the photocatalytic reaction to occur. Accordingly, the light intensity and the proportion of ultraviolet light are factors that influence the effectiveness of Photoment®. However, Photoment® is also effective when exposed to artificial light and/or visible light.

How much Photoment® do I need to achieve a reduction in nitrogen oxides?

The more photocatalytically active surfaces there are, the more nitrogen oxide can be decomposed. Even small Photoment® surfaces contribute to reducing pollution. Influencing factors are the light intensity and the wind directions.

Is there any proof of the effectiveness of Photoment®?

Yes. Photoment® has been designed to improve the quality of air and life. The effectiveness of Photoment® was shown by studies conducted by Prof. Dr. Dietmar Stephan at the Technical University of Berlin and verified by Prof. Dr. Michael Bruse, Director for Development and Innovation at ENVI-met GmbH using a simulation model of a real inner city area. Laboratory tests and studies conducted at the Technical University of Berlin on more than 1,500 paving stones have shown that Photoment® is capable of causing a reduction by more than 30% in nitrogen oxides under laboratory conditions. The strength of the paving blocks can be increased by up to 30% with the use of Photoment®. Furthermore, the studies also showed that the Photoment® paving stones are resistant to freeze-thaw and deicing salt, and retain their color..

Decomposition of nitrogen oxides (Scientific tests and studies)

What happens to the nitrate?

The nitrate resulting from the photocatalytic reaction is washed off by the rain and eventually makes its way into the groundwater. The quantity is so small that it is neither detrimental to the environment nor harmful to health.

Does Photoment® also work if exposed to artificial lighting?

Yes, it is a special feature of Photoment® that the photocatalytic reaction also occurs if it is exposed to artificial light/visible light. This also makes Photoment® an interesting option for use inside buildings or in tunnels, for instance.

Is Photoment® consumed by the reaction?

No. The photocatalytic reaction can be repeated any number of times. Photoment® retains its effectiveness throughout the entire life of the concrete surface

Do Photoment® concrete paving stones require cleaning?

As a photoactive additive for concrete, when exposed to light, Photoment® has a self-cleaning effect. However, the reaction needs some time to produce visible results. As an example, you can find a photo documentation of the removal of used oil stains from concrete paving blocks here (Download). Owing to the photocatalytic reaction, the surface cleans itself and stays clean for longer. Surfaces with Photoment® thus require less cleaning effort.

Does the self-cleaning work immediately?

You cannot see the self-cleaning effect of Photoment® at first glance. Contrary to what many people think, the self-cleaning effect is not based on the so-called “lotus effect”. The photocatalytic reaction brought about by Photoment® rather causes a superhydrophilic surface to be formed on the paving stones. As a result, particles of dirt can be undermined and easily flushed off by water. The growth of organic substances such as algae, mosses, lichens or fungi is impeded. This means that Photoment® paving stones are self-cleaning, and biofouling on the surfaces is inhibited.

Do the paving stones have a lotus effect?

No. The lotus effect refers to very high water repellence (superhydrophobicity) of a surface which also prevents soiling of the surface.
Paving stones containing Photoment® are photoactive. The photocatalytic reaction causes a superhydrophilic surface to be formed on the paving stones; as a result, particles of dirt can be undermined and easily flushed off. The growth of organic substances such as algae, mosses, lichens or fungi is impeded. This means that Photoment® paving stones are self-cleaning, and biofouling on the surfaces is inhibited.

Can I visually see that a paving stone contains Photoment® and thus has self-cleaning properties?

You cannot visually see the difference between “normal” paving stones and Photoment® paving stones. Photoment® paving stones can be recognized by the following label in the information material of the paving stone manufacturer

Where can I buy Photoment® paving stones?

Photoment® is an additive for concrete which can be added to almost all concrete paving stones, irrespective of the paving stone manufacturer. Please contact the paving stone manufacturer of your choice if you want to buy paving stones containing Photoment®. Please do not hesitate to contact us should you have difficulties finding a manufacturer, or if you have any questions concerning Photoment®. Contact

Can I apply Photoment® to my existing concrete pavement?

Photoment® is added during the paving stone manufacturing process to the so-called facing layer (i.e. to the 1 cm thick top layer) of the paving stones. Subsequent application to finished paving stones is not possible

Are Photoment® paving stones more expensive than normal paving stones?

Compared to normal paving stones, Photoment® paving stones deliver substantial added value: they clean themselves and decompose harmful nitrogen oxides. Accordingly, paving stones containing Photoment® cost slightly more than paving stones that are not photoactive. However, this extra cost is relatively low, so you can contribute to a healthier environment at affordable cost. Since Photoment® paving stones also require less cleaning effort, this is a worthwhile investment. The price of the paving stones is determined by the paving stone manufacturer.

Is there any scientific evidence of the effectiveness of Photoment®?

Yes. Photoment® has been designed to improve the quality of air and life, and its effectiveness has been confirmed by tests and studies conducted at the Technical University of Berlin and at the University of Mainz. Decomposition of nitrogen oxides (Scientific tests and studies)

Is Photoment® able to reduce nitrogen oxide pollution concentrations at particularly exposed nodal points of road traffic?

In an urban environment, under favorable conditions Photoment® can reduce as much as 12% of the local nitrogen oxide concentration directly at the exposed location, and thereby make an important contribution to keeping the nitrogen oxide concentration below the applicable EU limit of 40 micrograms/m³. Using Photoment® may thus help to avoid penalty payments imposed by the EU if the pollutant concentration exceeds this limit.

How much Photoment® do I need to achieve a reduction in nitrogen oxides?

The more photocatalytically active surfaces there are, the more nitrogen oxide can be decomposed. Even small Photoment® surfaces contribute to reducing pollution.
If you want to effectively reduce local nitrogen oxide concentrations, for instance at a particularly exposed road junction in the inner city area, the size of the Photoment® containing surface should be in a sound proportion to the road in question. As important influencing factors, the light intensity and the wind directions should also be considered.

How much do paving stones with Photoment® cost?

The costs of Photoment® are comparable to the costs of other concrete additives. As for all products delivering added value, the initial investment costs are higher than for products without added value.
The exact costs of the stones are determined by the concrete goods manufacturer.
Reasonable extra costs will pay off within a short period, because the surfaces stay cleaner; this will obviously save costs which would otherwise be incurred for cleaning. In addition, Photoment® decomposes harmful nitrogen oxides in urban areas and thereby makes an important contribution to reaching health and environment objectives

In what form is Photoment® delivered?

Photoment® is delivered in bags (20 kg) or on pallets (40x20kg). This makes handling and processing easy. Photoment® can be stored on pallets without any loss in photocatalytic activity; no additional silo is needed.

How is Photoment® used?

Photoment® is added to your standard facing concrete mixture. If you wish to use Photoment® for the production of photoactive paving stones, our experienced concrete technologists will be pleased to assist you in optimizing your concrete formulation for the use of Photoment®.

What are the benefits that Photoment® brings for the properties of the paving stone?

In tests on more than 1,500 Proctor samples, it was proven that…

  • Photoment® increases surface strength by as much as 30% (the proportion of cement could be reduced, which resulted in cost savings and avoided efflorescence).
  • Requirements regarding resistance to freeze-thaw and deicing salt are fully satisfied.
  • Photoment® can be used with any customary cement types and your standard mixture for the facing concrete can remain unchanged.

Can I use Photoment® with any cement?

Yes, it is one of the great advantages of Photoment® that it can be used with any cement. 

Does Photoment® also work with colored paving stones?

Yes. The effectiveness of Photoment® has also been scientifically proven for colored concrete paving stones. Please do not hesitate to contact us for advice on the ideal concrete formulation

Who can I contact if I want to produce concrete paving blocks containing Photoment®?

Contact

How much does Photoment® cost?

The costs of Photoment® are comparable to the costs of other concrete additives and depend on the exact formulation of your standard facing concrete mixture.

Photoment®-FAQ

FAQ - Häufig gestellte Fragen

Welches Unternehmen steht hinter Photoment®?

Photoment® ist ein innovatives Produkt, das in partnerschaftlicher Zusammenarbeit der Unternehmen STEAG Power Minerals und KRONOS entwickelt wurde.

Die STEAG Power Minerals GmbH, eine 100%ige Tochtergesellschaft der STEAG GmbH, ist mit ihren zahlreichen Tochtergesellschaften und regionalen Partnern seit vielen Jahren europäischer Kompetenzführer in der Verwertung von Nebenprodukten aus Steinkohlekraftwerken.

STEAG Power Minerals GmbH im Internet

KRONOS gehört zu den weltweit führenden Unternehmen in der Produktion und Vermarktung von Titandioxid, das häufig als Weißpigment für z.B. Farben und Kunststoffe genutzt wird.

KRONOS International, Inc. im Internet

Welche Faktoren haben Einfluss auf die Wirkung von Photoment®?

Für die photokatalytische Reaktion wird Licht benötigt. Dementsprechend sind als Einflussfaktoren die Lichtintensität und der Anteil an UV-Licht zu nennen. Eine Besonderheit von Photoment® ist allerdings, dass Photoment® auch unter Kunstlicht bzw. sichtbarem Licht wirkt.

Wieviel Photoment® benötige ich, um Stickoxide zu verringern?

Je mehr photokatalytisch aktive Flächen existieren, umso mehr Schadstoffe können abgebaut werden. Auch kleine Flächen mit Photoment® tragen bereits zum Abbau von Stickoxiden bei. Als Einflussfaktoren sind immer auch die Lichtintensitäten bzw. Windrichtungen zu betrachten.

Ist die Wirkung von Photoment® wissenschaftlich bestätigt?

Ja. Photoment® wurde entwickelt, um zur Verbesserung der Luft- und Lebensqualität beizutragen. Die Wirksamkeit von Photoment® wurde durch Untersuchungen von Prof. Dr. Dietmar Stephan, TU Berlin nachgewiesen und von Prof. Dr. Michael Bruse, Direktor Entwicklung und Innovation ENVI-met GmbH anhand eines Simulationsmodells einer realen Innenstadtfläche bestätigt  Laborversuche und Untersuchungen an der TU Berlin an über 1500 Pflastersteinen belegen:  einen Stickoxidabbau im Labor von über 30 %. Durch den Einsatz von Photoment® erreichen die Pflastersteine eine bis zu 30% höhere Festigkeit. Sowohl die Frost-Tausalzbeständigkeit und die Farbbeständigkeit wurden durch Untersuchungen an der TU Berlin nachgewiesen. Stickoxidabbau (Wissenschaftliche Untersuchungen)

Was passiert mit dem Nitrat?

Das durch die photokatalytische Reaktion entstehende Nitrat wird mit dem Regen ins Grundwasser gespült. Die Menge ist so gering, dass sie nicht umwelt- oder gesundheitsschädlich ist.

Funktioniert Photoment® auch unter Kunstlicht?

Ja, die Besonderheit von Photoment® ist, dass es auch auch unter Kunstlicht bzw. sichtbarem Licht wirkt. Das macht Photoment® daher auch für den Innenbereich von Gebäuden oder z. B. für den Tunnelbau interessant.

Wird Photoment® verbraucht?

Nein. Die photokatalytische Reaktion ist beliebig oft wiederholbar. Die Wirksamkeit von Photoment® hält die gesamte Lebensdauer der Betonoberfläche an.

Müssen Betonpflastersteine mit Photoment® gereinigt werden?

Photoment®, als photokatalytisch aktiver Betonzusatzstoff, wirkt unter Einfluss von Licht auch selbstreinigend. Die Reaktion benötigt aber etwas Zeit, um sichtbare Ergebnisse zu erzielen. Als Beispiel finden Sie hier eine Fotodokumentation des Abbaus von Altöl  (Steinposter). Die photokatalytische Reaktion führt dazu, dass die Oberfläche sich selber reinigt und länger sauber bleibt. Der Reinigungsaufwand ist somit geringer.

Funktioniert die Selbstreinigung sofort?

Den Selbstreinigungseffekt von Photoment® können Sie nicht auf den ersten Blick erkennen. Es handelt sich hierbei nicht, wie oft angenommen, um den sogenannten Lotus-Effekt. Durch eine photokatalytische Reaktion entsteht auf der Oberfläche der Steine eine superhydrophile Oberfläche, die dazu führt, dass Schmutzpartikel unterspült und leichter abgespült werden können. Das Wachstum von organischen Substanzen wie Algen, Moosen, Flechten oder Pilzen auf der Oberfläche wird verringert. Das bedeutet, dass Pflastersteine mit Photoment® selbstreinigend sind und eine  Vergrünung erschwert wird.

Haben die Steine einen Lotus-Effekt?

Nein. Der Lotus-Effekt sorgt dafür, dass Wasser an der Oberfläche abperlt und  somit eine Verschmutzung verringert wird. Mit Photoment® veredelte Pflastersteine sind photokatalytisch aktiv. Durch eine photokatalytische Reaktion entsteht auf der Oberfläche der Steine eine superhydrophile Oberfläche, die dazu führt, dass Schmutzpartikel unterspült und leichter abgespült werden können. Das Wachstum von organischen Substanzen wie Algen, Moosen, Flechten oder Pilzen auf der Oberfläche wird verringert. Das bedeutet, dass Pflastersteine mit Photoment® selbstreinigend sind und eine Vergrünung erschwert wird.

Kann ich optisch erkennen, dass der Pflasterstein Photoment® enthält und damit die Luft und sich selbst reinigt?

Logo / Siegel Photoment<sup>®</sup>

Optisch können Sie den Unterschied zwischen „normalen“ Betonpflastersteinen und Pflastersteinen mit Photoment® nicht erkennen. Pflastersteine, die mit Photoment® veredelt sind, erkennen Sie an folgendem Siegel in den zugehörigen Informationsmaterialien des Herstellers.

Was muss ich bei der Verlegung von Photoment®-Pflastersteinen beachten?

Wenn Sie Photoment®-Pflastersteine für private Zwecke nutzen möchten, müssen Sie darauf achten, dass die Steine ordnungsgemäß verlegt werden. Bitte beachten Sie hierfür unsere Verlegehinweise und die Verlegehinweise Ihres Pflastersteinherstellers.

Wo kann ich Photoment®-Pflastersteine kaufen?

Photoment® ist ein Betonzusatzstoff, der in fast allen Betonpflastersteinen eingesetzt werden kann, unabhängig vom Pflastersteinhersteller. Bitte wenden Sie sich an einen Betonpflastersteinhersteller, wenn Sie Pflastersteine mit Photoment® kaufen möchten. Sollten Sie Schwierigkeiten haben einen Hersteller zu finden oder weitere Fragen zu Photoment® haben, können Sie sich auch gerne an uns wenden. Kontakt

Kann ich Photoment® auch nachträglich auf meine Pflastersteine auftragen?

Photoment® wird direkt bei der Herstellung des Betonpflastersteins in den sogenannten Vorsatz (ca. 1 cm dicke obere Schicht des Pflastersteins) eingebaut. Ein nachträglicher Auftrag ist nicht möglich.

Sind Photoment®-Pflastersteine teurer als normale Pflastersteine?

Pflastersteine mit Photoment® haben gegenüber normalen Pflasterstein einen großen Zusatznutzen: Sie reinigen sich selbst und bauen gesundheitsschädliche Stickoxide ab. Dementsprechend sind Pflastersteine mit Photoment® etwas teurer als Pflastersteine ohne photokatalytische Wirkung. Der Aufpreis ist aber vergleichsweise gering, sodass der Einsatz für einen positiven persönlichen Beitrag zum Schutz der Umwelt und der Senkung des Reinigungsaufwand durchaus lohnenswert ist.
Der Preis der Pflastersteine wird durch den Pflastersteinhersteller bestimmt.

Kann Photoment® lokale Stickoxidbelastungen an besonders belasteten Verkehrsknotenpunkten reduzieren?

Photoment®-Oberflächen können im städtischen Raum unter günstigen Bedingungen bis zu 12% der lokalen Stickoxidkonzentration direkt an der belasteten Stelle abbauen und so einen entscheidenden Beitrag leisten, um die gültigen EU-Grenzwerte von 40 Mikrogramm/m3 einzuhalten. Mit dem Einsatz von Photoment® können so mögliche Strafzahlungen seitens der EU bei Belastungen über diesem Grenzwert vermieden werden.

Wieviel Photoment® benötige ich, um Stickoxide zu verringern?

Je mehr photokatalytisch aktive Flächen existieren, umso mehr Schadstoffe können abgebaut werden. Auch kleine Flächen mit Photoment® tragen bereits zum Abbau von Stickoxiden bei. Wenn Sie lokale Stickoxidkonzentrationen z.B. an besonders verkehrsbelasteten Verkehrknotenpunkten in Innenstädten abbauen wollen, sollte die Größe der  Flächen mit Photoment® aber in nennenswertem Verhältnis zur belasteten Straße stehen. Als Einflussfaktoren sind immer auch die Lichtintensitäten bzw. Windrichtungen zu betrachten.

Was kosten Pflastersteine mit Photoment®?

Die Kosten für Photoment® liegen im Bereich von Betonzusatzstoffen. Wie für alle Produkte mit Zusatznutzen sind die Kosten bei der Erstanschaffung höher als für Produkte ohne Zusatznutzen.
Die endgültigen Kosten der Steine werden von dem Hersteller der Betonwaren bestimmt.
Etwas höhere Kosten würden sich schnell amortisieren, da die Flächen nicht mehr so stark verschmutzen können und damit Reinigungskosten eingespart werden. Photoment® baut zusätzlich schädliche Stickoxide in städtischen Bereichen ab: Ein wichtiges Ziel für Umwelt und Gesundheit.

Wie wird Photoment® geliefert?

Photoment® wird in Säcken (20 kg)  oder auf Paletten (40x20kg) geliefert, was die weitere Verarbeitung sehr einfach macht. Photoment® kann auf Paletten gelagert werden, ohne dass es zu Aktivitätsverlusten kommt, es wird kein zusätzliches Silo belegt

Wie ist Photoment® anzuwenden?

Photoment® wird in Ihren Standard-Vorsatzbeton eingearbeitet. Wenn Sie Photoment® für die Produktion photokatalytisch aktiver Pflastersteine einsetzen wollen, helfen Ihnen unsere erfahrenen Betontechnologen gern weiter, um Ihre Betonrezeptur für den Einsatz von Photoment® zu optimieren

Welche Vorteile hat Photoment® für die Eigenschaften des Pflastersteins zu bieten?

An über 1.500 hergestellten Proctor-Körpern konnte nachgewiesen werden:

  • Photoment® erhöht die Oberflächenfestigkeit um bis zu 30% (der Zementanteil kann reduziert werden, was zu Kosteneinsparungen und zur Vermeidung von Ausblühungen führt)
  • die Anforderungen an Frost-Tausalzbeständigkeit beim Einsatz von Photoment® werden erfüllt
  • Photoment® kann mit allen üblichen Zementarten eingesetzt werden, Ihre Standard-Vorsatzmischung bleibt unverändert.

Kann ich Photoment® mit jedem Zement einsetzen?

Ein großer Vorteil von Photoment® ist, dass der Einsatz mit jedem Zement möglich ist. 

Funktioniert Photoment® auch bei farbigen Steinen?

Ja. Auch bei farbigen Betonpflastersteinen ist die Wirksamkeit wissenschaftlich nachgewiesen. Sprechen Sie uns gern für eine Beratung zur idealen Betonrezeptur an.

An wen kann ich mich wenden, wenn ich Betonpflastersteine mit Photoment herstellen möchte?

Kontakt

Was kostet Photoment®?

Die Kosten des Einsatzes von Photoment® liegen im Bereich von Betonzusatzstoffen und hängen von Ihrer Standard-Vorsatzmischung ab.